Radical Craft Q&A

Following on from our Radical Craft artist Q&A two weeks ago, we’ve got a Q&A with another Radical Craft invited artist – Pradeep Kumar. The Q&A celebrates our fourth triennial open art exhibition, in collaboration with Craftspace and showcasing alternative craft work.
The exhibition: ‘Radical Craft: Alternative Ways of Making’ will showcase UK creativity by artists facing barriers to the art world for reasons including health, disability, social circumstance or isolation, and who have submitted their work through the Outside In website. The works selected through this open call out (there’s still time to submit – the deadline is 5pm, Friday 30 October) will be displayed alongside pieces by historically renowned and invited contemporary outsider and self-taught artists.
The exhibition will launch at Pallant House Gallery, Chichester, from 12 March – 12 June 2016, before touring nationally. For more information please click here.

Pradeep Kumar, Untitled, Image courtesy of Raw Vision Magazine

Pradeep Kumar, Untitled, Image courtesy of Raw Vision Magazine

Why did you start making art?

Pradeep: Being deaf and partially mute, I always sat in the last row of the class and could not make out what the teacher taught. So just to while away my time in the class, I started making this art i.e. the chalk and later matchstick and toothpick carvings.

Was there a certain moment or event that made you start making art?

P: It was just a certain moment which made me start the art of carving. As I was sitting idle in the class I happened to notice a piece of chalk near the black-board on the floor, I picked it up and rolled it around in my hands. A thought came to me that I could try to carve the chalk.

Pradeep Kumar, Untitled, Image courtesy of Raw Vision Magazine

Pradeep Kumar, Untitled, Image courtesy of Raw Vision Magazine

Is your art work inspired by other artists, or landscapes or certain people?

P: Nothing of the sort.

How would you describe the style that you work in?

P: I never sketch a figure ahead of time. I simply start carving and wait to see what emerges.

PradeepKumar-04

What process do you go through when you make your work what do you do next?

P: I break the razor blade to make the tip and use that to carve minute details. Some times I use a needle too. To add colors to the carving, I apply color sketch pen and oil paint.

Has making art changed your life? If it has, how would you say it has changed it?

P: Yes, the making art has really brought a sea-change in my life. It satisfies my creative desire and makes my existence unique in the world.


For more information about Radical Craft, please click here.

Leave a Reply

