Peter Andrews

On Monday 1 December 2014, Outside In has been invited to be the nominated charity to raise money at Toovey’s Christmas Party at their auction house in Washington, West Sussex. Toovey’s is a family-owned and family-run firm with an international standard of expertise and marketing. During the evening, we will be holding an auction of promises to raise money for Outside In, and on Wednesday 3 December, there will be an auction of twelve works by Outside In Award Winners. We interviewed all of the artists with work in the auction for the accompanying catalogue. Here is our Q&A with Peter Andrews…


What first inspired you to take up art?

Because I love it. I got it off my Mum because she was a good artist. I watched her do it.

How long have you been making art for?

Since ARTHOUSE Meath started in 2006. I went there to enjoy myself.

Peter Andrews, My Interpretation

Peter Andrews, My Interpretation

Could you talk about the process behind your current work – from initial idea to final piece?

I look at a picture. Then I get it in my head and I draw it. If it’s not positive, I work on it again. Then I practice. I like to do it in pencil first. Then I make it perfect.

How do you decide when a piece is finished?

I look at it properly. I look at it from a distance. I give it space. Then if I decide to leave it alone, then it’s finished.

How would you describe your work in one sentence?

I draw because I like it; it makes me feel very happy and very proud of myself.

What do you hope the audience get when looking at your work?

I would like someone to come and like it. I’d like them to be impressed and feel happier.

What has been the high point of your artistic career?

I loved having my own show (at Pallant House Gallery). My Dad and my Mum came. They cried their eyes out with happiness.

Peter Andrews, The Dance (the piece that will be auctioned to raise money for Outside In)

Peter Andrews, The Dance (the piece that will be auctioned to raise money for Outside In)

What’s next for you as an artist?

I’d like to keep on doing art. I’d like to try and get my own gallery with my own pictures. Galleries are important.

Can you tell us about The Dance?

I did that on a special canvas, I did it in pens and pencils. And I did it very well. It’s a lady with curly hair. I love her to bits.

Leave a Reply

